Astronomy Department Committee & Service Assignments

Academic Year 2021-22

Aug 18, 2021

Standing Committees (required by or mentioned in the bylaws)

- *Executive Committee: Wong ('22), Shen ('23), Ricker ('24) [elected]
- Capricious Grading Committee: Wong (chair), Fields, Mouschovias
- Computing Committee: Ricker (chair), Kemball, Wong
- Courses and Curriculum Committee: Mouschovias (chair), Narayan, Vieira
- *Graduate Admission Committee: Fields (chair), Gammie, French, Vieira, Kemball¹, Liu¹, Mouschovias¹
- *Proficiency Exam Committee: DGS (chair), Wong (406/405²), Fields (404), Kemball² (414)

Student Advisors

- *Director of Graduate Studies: Ricker
- *Director of Undergraduate Studies: Dunne
- LAS Study Abroad Advisor: Dunne

Other Service Positions

- AOT: Narayan
- AURA Representative: Vieira
- *Colloquium Organizer (Fall): Ricker/Looney
- *Colloquium Organizer (Spring): Kemball
- CSE Program Liaison: Ricker
- Development: Looney
- Diversity and Inclusion: French (chair), Liu, Narayan, Ricker
- Newsletter: Looney
- U of I Observatory director: Dunne
- Public Information: Dunne
- UC Faculty Senator: Shen [elected]
- UIAS Advisor: Dunne

*indicates a major time commitment

Notes:

- 1. Application reader. We are adding faculty to only assist with the application reading component.
- 2. Projected